Food On A Plate




UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews








Crab At Chieveley - Newbury, Berkshire


Description

Sorry, no description available for Crab At Chieveley.

Style of food on offer: Seafood, Barbecue
Price Guide: £15.01 - £30.00
Parking: Own Parking Lot
Bar Facilities: Full bar

Review Summary

Crab At Chieveley has received 17 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):

Overall:6.5
Food:7.6
Service:6.5
Ambiance:7.1

The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Fish and chips, lobster prawn maple salad lobster lobster, scallops and king prawns grilled with garlic butter oysters Thai lobster, scallops baked scallops poached oysters, squid, dessert plate chilli squid, lobster butter poached lobster pollock Lamb

Address and Contact Details

Wantage Rd, Newbury
inside hotel
Chieveley
Newbury
Berkshire
England
RG20 8UE

Telephone: 01635 247440
Website: Click here

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  Bank Debit Cards
  American Express
  Visa
  Diners' Club
  MasterCard/Eurocard
  Gift Certificates

Seating capacity: 120 with a largest party size of 150
Dress code: Casual

Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for Crab At Chieveley - Newbury

Brilliant - review added on Fri 7th Jan 2005

Just discovered the Crab at Chieveley and wonder why we hadn't heard of it before. It is amazing. We went early one evening and the food, service and ambiance were amazing. I had the lobster/prawn maple salad and it was to die for. Son and hubby had fish and chips and they are still raving about it. We will be back and will certainly recommend to others too. The chef should be proud.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: fish and chips, lobster prawn maple salad
Review added on Sun 20th Feb 2005

The food is always brilliant. We've eaten there 8 or 9 times and never a dud.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: lobster
Never Disappointed - review added on Mon 25th Apr 2005

As others have said, expect the best when you go to the Crab. It is the ultimate treat for any seafood lover.From the homemade tapenade at the begining, through the perfectly cooked seafood, to the deserts and handmade chocolates with coffee, you really can't beat it.It's no exaggeration for me to say that had I not been lucky enough to live in the Newbury area, I would seriously consider relocating!The only thing that worries me about writing this review, is that it might add to how difficult it is to get a table at short notice.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: lobster, scallops and king prawns grilled with garlic butter
Most Amazing Restaurant in the South - review added on Tue 10th May 2005

We regularly travel from the North of England just to experience something superb and entirely different from anywhere else in the country.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 10

Still Crap at the Crab - review added on Thu 23rd Jun 2005

How can the present owners be allowed to get away with such terrible things? This lovely coaching inn has been turned into a ghastly restaurant. This was always a local place to go.How West Berks Council have let the current owners get away with it - they should be ashamed.
Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 4
Ambiance: 4

Appalling Service - review added on Sun 3rd Jul 2005

I am not usually one to take the time and trouble to voice my views, but feel compelled to about the Crab at Chieveley. Today, I visited this restaurant for the second time and will not be returning there again. On our initial visit four of us enjoyed good value for money set menu options and very good service. However, on checking the bill afterwards I realized that I had been charged for five meals for four of us. I telephoned the restaurant and after speaking to John, agreed that the amount I overpaid would be deducted on our next visit. This is where the problem begins. On returning to the restaurant I was told that John (or Andrew my other contact reference) no longer worked at The Crab. However, someone would be with us to discuss the matter. After waiting for some 35 minutes I was forced to call someone over, as we had just been left in the waiting area with two menus. We spoke to the "General Manager"who said he would "sort the problem out"and escorted us to our table. I was somewhat confused as to what the problem was - quite simply I was overcharged for one 3 course set meal last time and merely wanted this amount crediting back to me. We placed our order and a member of staff had to come back to confirm my choice of starter. I then had ask for the wine list. Bread was not forthcoming until I had nearly finished my starter. Towards the end of the meal a waiter tried to pour wine into our glasses from an empty bottle.As regard to the food, I was impressed with the quality of the oysters I had for a starter. The main course "special"sea bream and crab was good, but was slightly undercooked and the coriander infusion just didn't work. The dish was not worth £29. Also, the Sancerre lacked the usual gooseberry palate and was less than ordinary for £25.I received the bill at the end of the meal, and guess what...no deduction made for the previous overcharge!After 10 minutes further negotiation the amount was deducted, but the experience was totally ruined by now.I cannot recall the last time I have experienced such bungling ineptitude from mananagenent.It is a shame that I cannot return to a restaurant so local to me again.
Overall: 2
Food: 6
Service: 2
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: oysters
Best Experience with David Bastard - review added on Thu 18th Aug 2005

The food is excellent, but the kichen workers were so loud and rude that me and my children overheard from the restaurant. If you have ever experienced an arrogant, bumptious fellow manager with an Irish accent you can find him at the crab. The service was ok but I felt that they were more like olimpicons who tried to break the track records of the hundred meter's.
Overall: 4
Food: 8
Service: 4
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Thai lobster, scallops
Great Food - review added on Mon 22nd Aug 2005

The food as ever was excellent, scallops cooked to perfection, lobster to die for. It was just a shame that the service shown to my wife and I was detached and confused, and the French gentleman in charge (I think) did not aid matters by his manner. We will definately give the crab another go just for the food. I just miss the way we were made to feel so special on our previous two visits last year - excellent meal but could try harder!
Overall: 4
Food: 8
Service: 4
Ambiance: 4

Recommended Dishes: baked scallops
Not Crap but Not Brilliant Either - review added on Thu 6th Oct 2005

I have eaten at the Crab on three different occasions. The biggest problem is inconsistency and patchy service. Some dishes are superbly well judged combinations of flavours and presentation - others rather underwhelming. Service is again very hit and miss - but in my experience more often a miss. One lunchtime we were kept waiting 45mins for our main course - without any explanation forthcoming.If you follow another reviewers advice and relocate on the strength of this restaurant - you may be justifiably upset, but there are a few other good restaurants in the area to spread the load.
Overall: 4
Food: 6
Service: 4
Ambiance: 6

Poor Service Mars Good Food - review added on Mon 16th Jan 2006

Unfortunately the evening was spoiled by a series of events prior to us receiving our food, about which we had no complaint (other than a total shortage of the eponymous ‘Crab’!).Having arrived on time and announced ourselves at reception, it immediately became clear that the restaurant was very busy. The bar area was full with people waiting to be seated with nowhere for us to sit or stand.Initially there seemed to be a problem establishing whether we had a reservation, although it was clearly on the list and highlighted in green. At no stage were we offered a drink in the lounge, nor were our coats taken from us or menus brought for our perusal. There was no explanation as to why we were being neglected.After waiting for about a further thirty minutes, still with no offer of a drink or acknowledgement of our presence, I suggested that we might at least be shown to our table where we might get a little service. After another ten minutes we were shown into the Fish Bar but the table for the six of us was woefully inadequate (it was in fact a table meant for four). Luckily a couple were just leaving so were able to enlarge our table to accommodate six.Even once we were seated, our coats were not taken and still no drinks or a wine list offered to us. Eventually we managed to catch the eye of one of several waiters and ask for menus and drinks. I would say that conservatively this whole process must have taken at least an hour since our arrival. We then began to receive several apologies from the Head Waiter/Sommelier but it made no difference to the standard or speed of service. We were told that the kitchen was under a lot of pressure, one of the chefs had hurt himself, everyone had arrived at the same time etc. etc. etc.It never became clear to us who was meant to be serving our table because we had to grab whoever happened to be passing. In my observation, the waiters were guilty of not scanning what was going on around them, they avoided eye contact with the customers and had I not believed otherwise, I would say we were being deliberately ignored until things had time to quieten down. We had to ask for everything. Things did begin to improve after 10.30 and we were eventually able to leave leave just before midnight!
Overall: 6
Food: 6
Service: 4
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: poached oysters, squid, dessert plate
Review added on Wed 5th Jul 2006

It's quite simply the best seafood restaurant outside and including inside London. The Head Chef deserves a big pay rise before someone poaches him.The ambience and food within this restaurant is superb and I like my Mum and dad to take me there at least twice a week.We want to try the Sunday afternoon barbecue next.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: chilli squid, lobster
Crab Is OK - review added on Wed 6th Sep 2006

We went there on a recommendation, and found it OK. "OK"to the point where we thought the menu had promise and merited a second visit to try out a few other dishes...and "OK"in the sense that the food was nicely presented, and was of good quality. Based on my initial I wouldn't rate it as the "best seafood restaurant in England"but to be fair I probably haven't found the restaurant that deserves that particular accolade yet! What we did find disappointing was the "Assiette of Desserts"- said to be a bit of everything on the dessert menu. Well, it wasn't, and at £14 for two it didn't represent good value. But I've noticed lately that desserts rarely do.We ate off the full menu, and both felt that next time we'd give the "Three courses for £19"a go. Looked good value.Service was fine, but it was early and just beginning to get busy as we left. So, yes, we'll be back...and marks for first visit were 8/10.
Overall: 6
Food: 6
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Loved The Crab. - review added on Mon 5th Feb 2007

We had a wonderful meal and stay over at the crab. After the initial confusion over what room we had booked we were well looked after and have booked to go again for easter. Oh and we found the Irish man very helpful and all the staff for that matter. Obviously a fab chef and super but querky wine waiter.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: butter poached lobster
Good meal - review added on Thu 24th May 2007

We went early prior to the theatre and were able to choose from the reasonably priced lunch menu, enjoyed smooth, efficient service in an uncrowded room. Three course dinner for two with a drink for £60 seems very reasonable at this level of cuisine.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Review added on Sat 16th Jun 2007

Had the lunch menu. It was the best fish I have tasted outside scotland. Really fresh, well presented with creative flavours. Going back to try the lobster one evening very soon.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: pollock
Average - review added on Tue 18th Sep 2007

The reviews sounded great so we booked a room and a table. The ambience was all but non existant, with the whole of what was a pub given over to dining areas, leaving nowhere in particular to have a drink before dinner. The few staff seemed poorly organised, but helpful, and the chap who appeared to be the Maitre De had dutifully memorized a list of specials almost as long as the main menu itself. Sadly none appealed so we stuck to the menu. While waiting for our starters we were presented with very good bread, accompnaied by an excellent tapanade. Unfortunately that was the highlight - the rest of the food was pretty average and frankly a little overpriced. If this restaurant was in London - certainly anywhere near where I live - it would really struggle to compete. The decor consists of a collection of random tat, half of which is suspended from the ceiling in faux trawler net. Fitting for a Cornish tourist trap perhaps, but ridiculous here, and in a building with such natural character. The staff created an air of stuffy self awareness I haven't experienced in years, and not for any good reason. My cod main was over seasoned (and I like my salt) and the food simply seemed a little lack lustre. Ironically, for a fish restaurant, the Lamb dish I saw arriving at other tables looked absolutely superb, and I rather wished I had plumped for that. All in all, disappointing, and needless to say I won't be wasting my money there again. And don't even ask me about the rooms...
Overall: 4
Food: 4
Service: 6
Ambiance: 4

Recommended Dishes: Lamb
Review added on Wed 23rd Jan 2008

The Crab seems to be very much a hit and miss affair, I have been a few times, but a revisit will be unlikely.I find a rather blasé attitude to customer service.I do like the décor; there are some inspired areas of design, a minimalist concept of the original Crab in Thirsk. We sat in the bar area for a drink and engaged in some idle chat.The 2000 Margaux I ordered was fridge cold and duly popped onto the table by a young waitress, it could have been a bottle of Newcastle Brown Ale for all she cared, I asked if she could take the chill off the wine (and maybe the atmosphere I thought, but didn’t verbalize), 20 mins elapsed, still no wine. I enquired to its whereabouts. Its exact location was unknown, was it snuggled up in a blanket in a guests bedroom? Was it perched atop of the Gaggia? A thermal mystery ensued. The owner was sat next to us, but showed no interest, more engrossed in a tête-à-tête with their VIP guests. The wine arrived a few degrees warmer, with the cork removed! Alas the warming had not extended to the atmosphere.The food:-I avoid the over used idiom rip off, but it’s not too far from the truth.My farmed sea bass with dried tagliatelle was barely warm, a bland and uninspired culinary creation. I wouldn’t quibble in my local pub if I paid a tenner for the dish, but this was £18.The crab mayonnaise as a main course took the biscuit (or should I say tuile) £25, there were sniggers around the table when it arrived, the waiter backed off nervously, was that embarrassment I spied on his Gallic visage, surely not; must be a touch of indigestion.I settled the bill like a good boy and beat a hasty retreat. I often pay these financial amounts for wining and dining, but I expect an above average experience for what are above average costs.
Overall: 2
Food: 0
Service: 0
Ambiance: 0




Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor