Food On A Plate

UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews

The Trusty Servant - Lyndhurst, Hampshire


A pub/restaurant with an extensive menu. Large garden for summer meals. Room for 60 covers inside with a covered, heated barn in the garden.

Open all day every day for food.

Style of food on offer: Family, Bar / Pub / Brewery
Price Guide: £5.01 - £15.00
Accessibility for disabled: not accessible
Parking: Street Parking, Own Parking Lot
Bar Facilities: Full bar
Smoking policy: Smoking section

Review Summary

The Trusty Servant has received 9 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):


The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Guinea Fowl with apple and Pistachio forcemeat finished with a cane sugar and champagne vinegar reduction. Cherelle and Carley Chilli. Lamb shank. Roasts. Carpet Bag Steak Chilli with Nachos

Address and Contact Details

SO43 7FY

Telephone: 023 80 812137
Website: Click here
Menu page: Click here

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  Bank Debit Cards

Seating capacity: 60 with a largest party size of 40
Dress code: Casual

Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for The Trusty Servant - Lyndhurst

Very Rude Service - review added on Mon 15th Jul 2002

Unvelieveably rude service - So much for the customer is king.We were asked to move tables, the wrong food delivered to our table and then we were charged twice even though the error in ordering was not our fault.We will not be visiting this pub again
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 2
Ambiance: 6

Top Pub Food!!!!!! - review added on Thu 10th Oct 2002

Where the restaurant meets the pub head on, The Trusty Servant has it all, the restaurant style menu coupled with traditional English fayre giving everyone a choice. The prices are very competitive by New Forest Standards and the food is obviously all prepared to order. I will return time and time again and take my friends too!
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Guinea Fowl with apple and Pistachio forcemeat finished with a cane sugar and champagne vinegar reduction.
Sarnie - review added on Sat 17th Jan 2004

I was extremely impressed with the outstanding service I received today. The two waitresses are absolute crackers!
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: Cherelle and Carley
Excellent food and good value overnight - review added on Tue 16th Mar 2004

I've stayed twiceA classic english pub with an above average menu - freshly prepared to order I think.Rooms are typical for its age and location.Far better than others nearby.
Overall: 6
Food: 8
Service: 6
Ambiance: 8

Organised Chaos. - review added on Mon 7th Aug 2006

Arrived 12.45 an August Sunday.2 staff behind bar trying to do 5 peoples jobs(badly)serving drinks ,taking food orders,taking order slips to kitchen at other end of pub thus leaving one 1 person serving dozons of thirsty customers.Being a caterer myself,with a bit of organisation i could have increased turnover by probably 30% or more!Waited 20 mins for food,not bad.
Overall: 6
Food: 8
Service: 4
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Chilli. Lamb shank. Roasts.
Fantastic pub - review added on Thu 5th Oct 2006

We stayed for 3 nights when we went and it was fantastic. The staff were friendly and chatty, unbelievably helpful and seemed genuinely happy to to anything for you. The food was amazing. I would ignore the first comment here as apparently the pub was owned by someone who dicouraged locals. This seems to have changed since the current owners took over and it has to be one of the most inviting places I have ever been. I would recommend it to anyone.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Carpet Bag Steak
Diabolical! - review added on Sat 16th Jun 2007

Will be eating snacks from the village shop opposite next time - the worst food I have ever eaten (and I've had macDonalds a few times!).We had deep-fried brie to start, which was undercooked in the middle and almost burnt on the outside.I had a "carpet bag sirloin"- which was a seriously-overcooked sirloin steak with pate in the middle (which was actually just squished liver); awful. My fiancee had a barely-passable seafood risotto which was enough for 4 people. The only passable thing was the brandy snap dessert.The waiting staff were lovely, but the guy behind the bar was not really with it at all.They need to shrink their menu (too much stuff for the kitchen to prepare) and concentrate on quality rather than quantity.Not sure what sort of quality the locals and other tourists are used to, but I will never visit this place again. There was another couple, staying at our B&B who were also there and thought it was diabolical.For what it's worth, find somewhere else to eat.
Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 4
Ambiance: 4

Nice place for lunch - review added on Fri 29th Jun 2007

Good food, slightly above average prices though. Good local ales. Quickly prepared and cooked to order with good size portions. My Church Pastor and myself had the Chilli with Nachos and sour cream dip. The pint of Banks was cool and refreshing too! We both recommend the place
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Chilli with Nachos
Excellent now under new management - review added on Wed 10th Dec 2008

Had an excellent meal today with my family and was greatly entertained by the barman's performance of Thriller (sadly didn't get his name). Great service and would certainly recommend this pub now under new management. The fish was delish.
Overall: 9
Food: 9
Service: 10
Ambiance: 9

Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor