Food On A Plate

UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews

Dower House - Bawtry, South Yorkshire


Sorry, no description available for Dower House.

Style of food on offer: Indian / Pakistani

Review Summary

Dower House has received 9 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):


The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Onion Bhajis

Address and Contact Details

Market Place
South Yorkshire
DN10 6JL

Telephone: 01302 719 696

Other Information

Dress code: Casual

Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for Dower House - Bawtry

Dower House - review added on Sun 3rd Oct 2004

My husband and I went for a romantic meal. The meal was excellent, and could not be faulted. However, the staff were 'hovering' - we were totally rushed, we were in and out in under an hour! It felt that they had booked our table to someone else and wanted us to eat as fast as possible, pay and leave. Overall, food excellent but incredibly rushed so we felt disappointed.
Overall: 4
Food: 10
Service: 4
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Onion Bhajis
Review added on Thu 10th Feb 2005

We had a table for 10 and had a super night. We will go again.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Superb. - review added on Wed 23rd Mar 2005

I have been to this restuarant four years. The staff are excellent and friendly and the food is first class, in fact it's the best indian food I've ever had!. Always busy and thus the atmosphere is great. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Inconsistent - review added on Thu 26th Apr 2007

Sums up this place. Very busy and popular in a wealthy Doncaster suberb, which is half the problem. Tend to get snooty regulars and rushed service, decent menu, crap starters which need reviving. Best are the chicken livers but are always overcooked. Go for gusht Kalia (lamb tamarind) for main course. Tables too close
Overall: 6
Food: 6
Service: 6
Ambiance: 6

Snobby staff - review added on Tue 13th May 2008

We have been to the Dower House quite a few times over the years, because of the nice food. We have now stoped going because the staff are far too snobby and ignorant, they rush you in and out and have no manners what so ever. Over the road we Tried Lancers indian and the food is great but even better than that you get treat with manners.
Overall: 3
Food: 7
Service: 1
Ambiance: 2

Excellent restaurant - review added on Wed 18th Jun 2008

My husband and I have visited Dower House restaurant many times and have never ever been disappointed in either the food or the service. The food quality is outstanding and the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly, especially the Manager, Ronnie.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 9
Ambiance: 9

Recommended Dishes: Chicken Shaslick
Fantastic - review added on Wed 18th Jun 2008

The dower house is absoloutly brilliant. They are consistantly the best in everything that they serve. I have been 30-40 times and it has always been amazing. The best indian restauraunt I have ever been to. If you get the oppertunity i strongly advise a visit. Good work Ronnie
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Won't be going back - review added on Mon 1st Sep 2008

Went for an anniversary meal with my wife. Found them in the middle of decorating - we spent the evening looking at jagged strips of wallpaper at ceiling level and bare plaster on the rest of the walls. Food okay - service very off hand.
Overall: 3
Food: 7
Service: 4
Ambiance: 1

Very rushed - review added on Sun 14th Dec 2008

this is one of the worse resturants i've ever eaten in.although the starters were very nice by the time we had finished before the table was cleared the main course was on its way out.staff hovering all the time. main course done and table was cleared within 10 minutes and the bill was on the table in and out within 1 hour and very over priced. there korma has no taste what so ever.
Overall: 1
Food: 2
Service: 1
Ambiance: 1

Recommended Dishes: lamb sheek

Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor