Food On A Plate




UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews








Happy Gathering - Cardiff, South Wales


Description

Sorry, no description available for Happy Gathering.

Style of food on offer: Chinese
Price Guide: £5.01 - £15.00
Parking: Street Parking

Review Summary

Happy Gathering has received 8 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):

Overall:7.2
Food:7.2
Service:8.5
Ambiance:6.5

The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Pork rice noodle, Prawn Sui Mai. pork dumplings, pork croquettes, battered squid, crispy pork with rice cheung feung chicken rolls, chicken and cashewnuts - any dessert!!

Address and Contact Details

233 Cowbridge Road East, Canton
Canton
Cardiff
South Wales
Wales

Telephone: 029 20 397531

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  Visa
  MasterCard/Eurocard


Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for Happy Gathering - Cardiff

Reasonably Happy - review added on Thu 18th Jan 2001

Large, first floor restaurant in shopping area of Canton. Very popular (particularly with Chinese community) but hard to see why. Ambience reminds me of a motorway service area! I strongly advise you to go elsewhere - try the Bozan in Roath.
Overall: 4
Food: 4
Service: 8
Ambiance: 4

Try Sunday Lunchtime - review added on Mon 15th Jul 2002

Good set meal for 4 plus vegetarian options. Service was good. Prices are reasonable. I like the atmosphere - better than Phoenix Garden, not as pretentious as Summer Palace
Overall: 6
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Very Happy Time At The Happy Gathering - review added on Mon 21st Jul 2003

My husband and I had our wedding reception here and could not have been happier. They accomodated our large party easily. The service was excellent and the food was the best we ever had; no one had a negative thing to say about it.
Overall: 10
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Dim Sum Heaven - review added on Mon 22nd Sep 2003

Have been coming here for years (20+) and not had a bad meal yet. After all, the local chinese community can't be wrong.Try the Dim Sum menu, avail 4 - 6pm (I think). You can fill up with delicious dishes for £5 - £7 pp. All freshly cooked to order, choose a variety of steamed, crispy and stir fried for the best effect. The menu offers pictures of everything, just in case you haven't tried things before. Decor hasn't changed in 20 years, but who cares if the food is great?
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Pork rice noodle, Prawn Sui Mai.
Gorgeous! - review added on Sat 27th Sep 2003

Me and my family have been going to the Happy Gathering for years. the food is gorgeous and the service is quick and the waiters are all friendly and happy to help. The dishes are very cheap for the quality, and they have a wide selection!
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: pork dumplings, pork croquettes, battered squid, crispy pork with rice
Good Food, Great Restaurant. - review added on Thu 1st Jan 2004

My family and I have been coming here for a very long time. The food is delicious and tasty.Service is brilliant and the waiters are very polite. They are very accomodating. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!
Overall: 10
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: cheung feung
Brilliant - review added on Fri 3rd Sep 2004

I have been to the Hapy Gathering many times and have never had a bad experience - the food is always hot and tasty and it has a great ambience
Overall: 10
Food: 8
Service: 10
Ambiance: 10

Recommended Dishes: chicken rolls, chicken and cashewnuts - any dessert!!
Bad service, Chinese dishes nothing special - review added on Sun 6th Feb 2005

I have been to many Chinese restaurants in UK even in China. I have never seen dishes and service as poor as here. The service is bad especially the chinese waiters, the dishes are boring and no suprise. The seafood and meat are not fresh, it's really bad!
Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 2
Ambiance: 2




Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor