Food On A Plate




UK Restaurants, Pubs, Cafes and Takeaways - Details and Reviews








The Armless Dragon - Cardiff, South Wales


Description

Modern restaurant offering Welsh cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere.

Style of food on offer: British
Price Guide: £15.01 - £30.00
Accessibility for disabled: partially accessible - Toilets on first floor.
Parking: Street Parking
Smoking policy: Smoking only at bar

Review Summary

The Armless Dragon has received 8 reviews, giving the following average ratings (out of 10 - higher is better):

Overall:4.8
Food:5.8
Service:6.9
Ambiance:6.5

The reviews can be seen in full below these details.

Recommended dishes: Fish/Shellfish is very good and imaginative Steak avoid the steak

Address and Contact Details

97 Wyverne Road, Cathays
Cardiff
South Wales
Wales

Telephone: 029 20 382357
Website: Click here

Other Information

Accepted payment methods:
  Bank Debit Cards
  Visa
  MasterCard/Eurocard


Hoseasons Country Cottages

Customer Reviews for The Armless Dragon - Cardiff

A Little Pearl - review added on Tue 27th Nov 2001

I have been going to this restaurant on and off for about 5 years now. Having eaten in most of the rated restaurants in the UK, and a few across europe, I must say that it genuinely compares very well. The menu has a very good selection of seasonal fare with fish being a particular speciality (Sewin being a personal favorite). Although the wine list lacks depth the cellar is generally well stocked with good French and New World favorites. Another attractive feature is the way in which the menu attempts, and generally suceeds, with adding a bit of Cymric flavour. Very reasonably priced with friendly staff its a nice place to go prior to an evening out in Cardiff.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6

Recommended Dishes: Fish/Shellfish is very good and imaginative
Excellent Service - review added on Tue 8th Jan 2002

I recently had a meal at The Armless Dragon restaurant and I have to say it was really wonderful and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Overall: 8
Food: 10
Service: 10
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: Steak
All change - review added on Sun 16th May 2004

After a ten year absence was looking forward to more large helpings of tasty and superbly cooked Welsh fare. Sadly I was disappointed by tough Brecon lamb and tiny portions of vegetables. Some may appreciate the new and "modern"decor but for me it has lost its value for money and laid back ambiance.
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 0
Ambiance: 4

Poor Lunch - review added on Wed 19th May 2004

Will not go again, the service was the poorest we have experienced across South Wales Restaurants/Pubs. The food and presentation did not measure up to its reputation of serving traditional Welsh cuisine.
Overall: 2
Food: 4
Service: 2
Ambiance: 4

Very impressed - review added on Wed 30th Jun 2004

Hope to see this restaurant on lookandbook.co.uk soon so I can book a table online.
Overall: 8
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Good value and nice atmosphere - review added on Mon 15th Nov 2004

Elisabeth and I went to the Armless Dragon on a recent visit to Cardiff. The cuisine which had been recommended lived up to its reputation and I liked the way in which it was presented - slate table mats and a blackboard menu. The halibut was excellent and the lamb which masqueraded as duck - our gain and the other tables loss was a pleasant suprise - just as friendly and welcoming as Cardiff overall!
Overall: 6
Food: 8
Service: 8
Ambiance: 8

Pretentious and overpriced - review added on Mon 27th Nov 2006

I went here with a group on Saturday afternoon. This is a very disappointing restaurant which is pretentious and overpriced. Among other things we were served Steak in a deep bowl! The garnish was on the bottom, then potato, then the steak. As you can imagine the salad was heated by the steak and swimming in about an inch of steak juice. It was more like a soup and I had to 'fish' my food out and put it on a side dish. The staff were not very friendly and a little arrogant when this was pointed out. The food in general was only average and not worth the extra price you would expect to pay for quality. I don't mind paying heavy prices for a good meal but this poor value for money. All 12 of us would not return to this restaurant.
Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 4
Ambiance: 8

Recommended Dishes: avoid the steak
Review added on Tue 15th Jul 2008

Was very much looking forward to my trip to the Armless Dragon, where I'd never eaten. It was a Friday evening, but only two other tables occupied - clearly not in the middle of a dining buzz!Very disappointing. The menu seemed lovely (though very little vegetarian choice). Amazed that everything hugely oversalted. I suspect that the food underneath would have been delicious, but very over-seasoned. I'm not someone who skimps on seasoning myself, but this was ridiculous. None of our party of four, who all chose different options, could finish their meal.
Overall: 2
Food: 2
Service: 8
Ambiance: 6




Review What You Eat uses modified ChefMoz data as well as our own - you can add entries direct to ChefMoz via the following links:
Help build the largest open-content restaurant guide on the web.
Submit a Restaurant / Review /Link - ChefMoz Project - Become an Editor